The purpose of these parking and traffic regulations are twofold:
- to make the best use of the present parking facilities and
- to enhance the safety of the campus.
Who is required to have a parking permit?
All SCC curriculum students, as well as students attending senior institution classes held on our campus, must display a valid parking decal on their vehicles. Continuing Education students registered for 20 or more contact hours must also display a valid decal on their vehicles. Decals must be displayed on the right rear bumper, or on the right side of the rear window of the vehicle.
North Carolina State Law
All provisions of Chapter 20 of the General Statutes of North Carolina relating to the use of the highway of the State of North Carolina and the operations of motor vehicles thereon are applicable to the streets, roads, driveways and Public Vehicular Areas on the campus of Surry Community College.
The speed limit on all streets, roads, and driveways on the campus of Surry Community College is 15 MPH except where otherwise posted.
Student permits – White-lined spaces only. Vehicles bearing student-parking permits must park in spaces outlined by white markings
(7:30 a.m. – 10:00 p.m. daily).
Vehicles bearing faculty permits must park in spaces outlined by yellow markings
(7:30 a.m. – 10:00 p.m. daily).
Parking spaces designated "Visitors" are for visitor parking only. Students, faculty, and staff may not park in these spaces at any time.
Parking spaces designated "Handicapped" are for use by the physically handicapped. Parking in these spaces requires a permit issued by the NC Department of Motor Vehicles. All state and federal laws will be enforced which could lead to a maximum fine of $250.00.
No vehicle should be parked in any unmarked area on any paved parking lot or street.
Parking is not permitted on any grass area.
Parking within gravel lots is for student parking.
Motorcycles are required to have a parking sticker. Motorcycle and mopeds may park on the paved or concrete islands in parking lots (as long as it does not block walkways and steps). Motorcycles may not park on walks or corridors or under the steps of campus buildings.
All students and staff are required to register their vehicles if they expect to park on the campus. Each vehicle parked on campus, including the vehicles of university students and staff, must display a valid decal. Student decals can be purchased in the Business Office. Registration of each student vehicle requires that the student present the state automobile registration card. Vehicles not so registered will be in violation of the campus parking regulations and be subject to fines and/or towing. The campus Chief of Police will supervise the policing of the parking lots and issuing of parking tickets. Students and staff are not allowed to transfer their permit to other vehicles.
Regular Parking Violations - $5.00 if paid within (5) working days; otherwise the fine increases to $7.00. Unpaid fines will be posted on student accounts and will prevent future registration, receipt of transcripts, and, if necessary, will result in other collection activity.
Students and staff may register a vehicle temporarily by obtaining a temporary parking permit in the Business Office or from Campus Police. The vehicle must be registered each day it is driven.
The campus police department shall have the responsibility for enforcing all state laws concerning moving violations and for investigating all traffic accidents or incidents on campus. There will be a charge of $5.00 to any outside entity requesting copies of releasable reports. Students needing assistance should contact the Information Office in the A-Building.
Flagrant or Repeated Violations
Violators who have parked cars and trucks on grass areas, walks, or on the islands within the parking lots; in handicapped spaces, in college vehicle spaces or staff spaces are subject to having their vehicles booted or towed. Repeated violators may lose their privilege to park on the Surry Community College campus.
Unattended vehicles parked for an extended length of time or in repeated violation of parking rules may be towed away at the expense of the vehicle’s owner.
The Chief of Police reserves the right to take any action deemed necessary and proper to enforce the regulations herein.
Dual Enrolled Students
Any student that is dual enrolled from any area high school is only allowed to park on the SCC campus while their scheduled college class is in session. Dual enrolled students are not allowed to park on campus all day while attending an off campus high school class.
Students may appeal traffic fines by following the appeal policy outlined in the SCC catalog.
A parking permit/decal will be issued for a fee of $5.00. The decal must be displayed and be visible on the right rear bumper or right rear (outside) window. Each decal is dated and is valid only for the period shown. The Chief of Police must approve any exceptions to this rule.
All student permits that are issued are only registered to ONE vehicle. Permits are not allowed to be transferred to other vehicles without registering the vehicle with SCC. Additional permits are required in the event the student has other vehicles they drive at their leisure. If a permit is lost or stolen, report the incident to Campus Police immediately and we will assist you in getting another permit at no charge providing proof is confirmed the student has purchased a permit during the year.